Skip to Content


Expand or Collapse all.
  • 2014 Faculty Research Enhancement Grants

    School of Art and Design

    Barry Stone, Jason Reed, and Maia Wright were awarded a research enhancement grant titled “Noise to Signal: Archives, Histories, and Contemporary Photographic Practices.”

    Jill Fantauzza and Rose Newton were awarded a research enhancement grant to develop a more accessible visual language for the fabrication of open source hardware so that open source projects would become realizable to a greater breadth of communities (specifically more public school and community center populations).

    Joey Fauerso received a grant from the San Antonio Office of Culture and Creative Development to curate a show of Texas State Alumni entitled “Redrawing the City.”

    School of Journalism and Mass Communication

    Cindy Royal was awarded a grant from the Challenge Fund for Innovation in Journalism Education. Her proposal, TexasMusicViz, focuses on developing curriculum around disrupting music journalism by telling stories with data about the economics, culture and interaction of the music community.

    School of Music

    Mary Ellen Cavitt received a research enhancement grant for her study titled, “A Comparison of Expert and Novice Error Correction Task Persistence within Instrumental Music Rehearsals.”

    Washington Garcia received grants and sponsorships from national and international corporations as well as individual donors for the 5th Texas State International Piano Festival. This provided crucial financial support to 44 of the most talented young artists from around the world, selected by audition, who attended the festival. Additionally, Washington was joined in recital by two festival alumni to perform in a fundraising event in Austin. As part of the Texas State International Concert Series, a new initiative to raise scholarship money for the School of Music, Washington worked with University Advancement to obtain the first sponsor, confirmed in April.

    Hank Hehmsoth received a 2014 grant from the Academic Computing Committee to upgrade the Technology Resources in the Music Computer Center. 

    Charles R. Hurt was awarded a grant from Equity and Access. With this grant and the generous support of the School of Music, he was able to organize a tour of Texas State Artists/Teachers to the Rio Grande Valley. Steve Hager, horn, Charles Hurt, trombone, Todd Oxford, saxophone, Adah Jones, flute, Kari Klier, percussion, and Vanguel Tangarov, clarinet, visited the campuses of Canyon High School, Palmview High School, Harlingen High School, Los Fresnos High School, Juarez-Lincoln High School and North Edinburg High School. They presented master classes, section rehearsals, and individual lessons at each location. Jacob Banda, Palmview High School, Zynahia Banda, Juarez-Lincoln High School, and Marcos Telles, Harlingen High School and Middle School are alumni of the School of Music. 

    Department of Communication Studies

    Tricia Burke and Michael Burns received a research enhancement grant to investigate the mental health of college students during their transition to college and how they communicate with their families about their mental health. 

    Rebekah Fox and her research team received a grant from the Joint Fire Science Program to identify areas of communication competencies and constraints that affect perception and communication of risk in wild-land fire management. Fox also received a research enhancement grant to explore expert fire managers’ crucial experiences.

    Melinda Villagran received a grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Agency (SAMHSA). Villagran and Grace Davis, Executive Director of the Hays-Caldwell Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse, will lead the three-year campus and community partnership program entitled the Bienestar Coalition.

    Department of Theatre and Dance

    Ana Baer was awarded a grant from the Academy for the Visual and Performing Arts’ Guest Artist Initiative from Texas A&M University. She also received grants from the City of San Marcos Arts Commission and the Lecturer Series from Texas State.

    Kaysie Seitz Brown and Michelle Nance received a research enhancement grant to conduct research in the teaching of science curriculum through creative dance to students at Crockett Elementary in San Marcos. 

    Shay Hartung-Ishii received funding from the City of San Marcos Arts Commission to host the Erick Hawkins Dance Intensive.

    Kaitlin Hopkins helped secure a $25,000 grant from the Still Water Foundation for scholarships for the Musical Theatre program.