Skip to Content

Points of Pride

Expand or Collapse all.

Art and Design

Art and Design students come primarily from Central Texas, but their achievements reach well beyond. 

Ten students earning their BFA in Studio Art or Photo­graphy from the School of Art & Design were accepted into prominent graduate schools including: Chicago Art Institute, San Francisco Art Institute, Rhode Island School of Design, Maryland Institute College of Art, and The Royal College of Arts and Design in London, England.

The Art History program celebrated its first graduates to earn the School’s new BA in Art History. Among these students, two were accepted into Master’s programs, one at the University of Edinburgh and the other at Sotheby’s London.

MFA and BFA students in Communication Design at Texas State have had their work selected to appear in national design publications such as CMYK, Graphis magazine’s New Talent Directory, and the 2013 Brand New Awards. Design students also compiled an impressive number of recognitions from the American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA), the Dallas Society of Visual Communications National Student Show (DSVC), and, the American Advertising Federation’s ADDY awards. Forty-eight students won over 60 individual design awards in these competitions.

Communication Studies

External reviewers of the department recently concluded that the Texas State Department of Communication Studies was “one of the top master’s granting departments in the country.” When providing their overall department assessment reviewers said, “this department is easily a ‘top five’ unit, with a reasonable argument towards being number one [in the U.S.].” 

During the past year department faculty have received external research grants of nearly 1 millions dollars. The grants make it possible for Dr. Melinda Villagran to continue her nationally-recognized program of research in health communication. Dr. Rebekah Fox will expand her award-winning research in environmental communication. 

Department of Communication Studies faculty members served or were elected to the very top professional leadership roles nationally and regionally. Dr. Steven Beebe served as president of the National Communication Association and Dr. Roseann Mandziuk is president-elect of the Southern States Communication Association.

During the past academic year the Texas State Elton Abernathy Forensics Society in concert with the Texas State LBJ Debate Team won the Overall Sweepstakes Award at the Texas Intercollegiate Forensics Association tournament for a 13th consecutive time.

Journalism and Mass Communication

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication sponsored its first study abroad program during the summer of 2014 with 22 students and three faculty members. Both undergraduate and graduate courses were offered. The program included visits with media companies in Edinburgh, Scotland, Cardiff, Wales and London, England.

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication will introduce concentrations in digital media and visual communication beginning in fall 2014.  Students majoring in Advertising, Public Relations, Journalism, Electronic Media or General Mass Communication can now graduate with a Concentration in Digital Media and/or a Concentration in Visual Communication. 

The School initiated partnership projects that connected students and faculty directly with industry professionals.  Advertising students conducted market research for Hewlett-Packard Co.  Electronic Media students demonstrated pre-game, play-by-play, color commentary and post-game skills in a sports broadcasting class involving the Round Rock Express, a Minor League Baseball club, and Texas State athletics.

Mass Communication Week featured more than 35 events with 60-plus speakers representing the fields of journalism, advertising, public relations, digital media and more. Students covered events, used social media, networked for jobs and internships and interacted with alumni. 


A delegation from the Texas State School of Music travelled to Xishuangbanna, China, to take part in one of the largest festivals in South China. Faculty and students performed in front of an audience of approximately 2,000 people. 

Texas State’s Feria del Mariachi, celebrated its 15th year. The festival included workshops, a competition for 5 middle-school and 12 high-school groups, and the inaugural Texas All-State Mariachi. School competition winners, Texas All-State Mariachi, and Texas State’s Mariachi Nueva Generación with award-winning guest artists Sebastien De La Cruz and Lorenzo Negrete performed for an audience of 1400.

J. S. Bach’s monumental work, St. John Passion (1740) for chorus, orchestra, and soloists, was performed under the baton of Grammy-Award-winning conductor Craig Hella Johnson to a sold out audience in the new Performing Arts Center’s Recital Hall. Organized by choirmaster Joey Martin, the production included acclaimed guest soloist Dann Coakwell, Texas State faculty and student vocal soloists, the Texas State Chorale, and a chamber orchestra of area professionals, including Texas State faculty and students. 

Theatre and Dance

Former theatre students include Tony-winning actors Julie White and John Benjamin Hickey, Emmy-winning actor Powers Boothe, Emmy-winning Light designer Matt Ford, Emmy-winning writer and film director Thomas Carter, and Drama Desk nominees Demond Green, Roberta Colindrez, and Bobby Moreno.

Since 2001, through the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival, the department’s theatre program has been recognized at the Kennedy Center with 2 Producer Awards, 2 Special National Selection Team Fellowships and 30 National Finalists, including 7 National Award Winners.

An August 2010 article in the New York Times cited Texas State as having one of the top undergraduate programs in musical theatre and acting. At a subsequent conference, author and college audition coach Mary Anna Dennard stated: “The hottest drama program in the country is at Texas State.”

The Dance faculty has earned both national and international acclaim presenting work in France, Germany, Greece, Scotland, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico, Chicago, Denver, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, New York City, and Portland.